I love NY!

Well, I totally admire the friend from today, he studies cinema in NY, amazing! I wish him thousands of prizes, specially Oscars. He said: “How could I have ever thought twice before coming out here? The sky is so clear and marvelous. What a creation. Blue, orange, red… Astonishing! Here at the Empire State, people from the entire world come up here to witness nothing less than the world itself, concentrated on the small island of Manhattan. As I walk through the 86th floor observatory, my eyes can’t focus on just one spot. They glance over Chelsea, the village and what I assume is Chinatown, reaching towards the financial district, Statue of Liberty, Staten Island and finally the ocean. Oh, the ocean! I’m always so caught up in my routine that I forget how close I am to it. I wish I would see it more often. It looks so peaceful from here. Treacherous, yet marvelous. I feel like I’m on a ship. I sail away into stormy oceans while never even leaving the top of old New Amsterdam. The top of the mast moves with the strong winter wind – an observatory that takes me on a journey through the unknown sea that surround me.

It is time for me to swim deep into the sea of human creations around me. At the 86th floor of my dear ship I am just a voyeur sneaking into the life of Manhattan. I am a sailor taking the world to myself, constantly craving an adventure beyond the reach of my eyes and my soul. And I can reach beyond, right now, by taking the old elevator that will lead me to the top of King Kong’s realm. Right now I don’t know if I am a sailor on a 20th century steamboat or just one of the thousands of newly arrived workers that made the Empire State Building come true. The 102nd floor makes the 86th seem like “down there”. I’m definitely standing on the top of the world. The rest of the building ceases to exist when I’m here. We’re beyond that, beyond the physical, beyond humanity – and beyond New York itself.

Now enough of this melodramatic stuff, let’s get down to the real New York City shit. Truth is, top of the Empire State Building, as beautiful and magnificent as it could be, is now full of tourists. Before coming to New York I had an idealized view of the places I would probably hang out – I imagined myself emerged into the nightlife of Times Square, taking ferries from South Street Pier and even joining the thousands of people who simply decide to sit down and read, deep within the trees of central park, enjoying the first days of heat in the year. Well, honestly, out of those three, maybe the last one is the realistic one. My love for Times Square fights against the urge to call myself a New Yorker – the once bohemian Theatre District, the safe haven for prostitutes and drug dealers in the 1980s, is now nothing more than a Tourist Spot. Magnificent portrait of how shallow wonderment can be, as the buildings expose their incredible boards of advertisement, as the thousands of people that cross the street push New Yorkers as far away from the spot as they could be. The Times Building, right on the intersection between Broadway, 7th Ave and 43rd St. is the example of that – the building that gave the name to the place is now empty, covered only by billboards. It becomes hard to see the new Theatre district with the same eyes someone saw a while ago. I won’t, however, take its merit – Broadway shows that play around the midtown area are simply fantastic. From the most typical musical, such as The Phantom of the Opera or West Side Story, to touching classics like The Normal Heart – you’ll find it there.

To move up the level of glamorous New York life, head up Broadway to the gorgeous Lincoln Center, around 64th Street. Home to The New York City Ballet and Opera House, the construction around the center could not be more beautiful – but be ready to feel underdressed as you share the audience with the highest members of Upper West and East Side. One of my favorite restaurants lie just around the corner there, under the Empire Hotel – PJ Clarks, just like the one in São Paulo or Chicago. I can’t cease to recommend people their amazing steaks and creamed Spinach.
But for a trendy, New York meal you have to go down to Greenwich Village. Mostly known as the Artists Center, this is where the actual heat of New York rests – The typical, 5 to 6 store New York City Apartments are all around, sharing space with the cutest restaurants, best home-feeling stores and old movie theatres, makes this place recognizable even by people who don’t know where it is. In the West Village, walking down Bedford you may even run into people photographing a random building – the one used as the establishing shot of Monica, Chandler, Joey and Rachel’s apartment in Friends.

My little speech here is turning out to be way too big. My biggest suggestion for New York is simply to walk around – walk everywhere and you’ll discover something new in every corner. The only place in the world where you can actually be alone is also the place of possibilities, of history, of capitalism, of different ideas all merging together in this island. This city can be whatever you want it to be, you just have to find it – and maybe pay for it, since it can be quite expensive. Some highlights for visitors, some stuff that I enjoy doing when I got guests:
Riding a Bike in Central Park – Ok, Central Park might seem incredibly touristy, but I assure you New Yorkers are there too. It’s quite a big park! Just head away from 5th Ave.
Getting lost in the West Village – and don’t be sketched out by Cristopher Street or, if you head to the East Village, St. Marks.
Going down on Broadway, passing Madison Square, Union Square and Reaching Washington Square.
Going to those restaurants: The House, PJ Clarks (in Lincoln Center), Brasserie (on Rockefeller Center), Avra or A Voce (In Madison Square Park).
Shopping on the streets of Soho – Just head South of Houston on Broadway!
And just discover it all, there will always be something new!”

>>Movies: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5katNrnYb8U New York, I love you
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cuU6XU0_Gfs Manhattan
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5ab6RtA-KE August Rush
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jq99VixoktU Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist (this one happens in my friend’s neighborhood)                                                   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SPzIvgs9iLo   Prime              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MRPr34vEbC8    A lot like love  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8qh3XF1rYM  Hair                                              http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B5j_2sRUTbU some scenes of King Kong 

Publicado em junho 30, 2011, em USA e marcado como , , , . Adicione o link aos favoritos. Deixe um comentário.

Deixe um comentário

